LCPW Hosts NMPW Communication Contest Workshop

NMPW 2021 Communications Contest Workshop

NMPW 2021 Communications Contest Workshop

The Las Cruces Press Women will host the NMPW Communication Contest workshop on Tuesday, December 8, 6–7pm. Contest chair Carolyn Carlson will give us the lowdown on eligibility, rules, categories, and awards.

Advanced registration is required to attend this Zoom meeting. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Hope to see you there!

NFPW & NMPW Communications Contest Opens Oct. 1

The 2021 National Federation of Press Women and New Mexico Press Women Communications Contest is open on October 1. Click here for more information and to enter or log on to the NFPW website.

The communications contest is a two-tiered contest open to anyone over the age of 18 regardless of age, gender, professional status or location.

The contest is open Oct. 1, 2020. Book entries are accepted until February 3, 2021 at midnight our time zone. All other entries are accepted until February 10, 2021 until midnight our time zone. All entries received after January 27, 2021 will be charged a one-time $25 late fee.

The first tier of the contest is at the state level. Winners at the state level earn the chance to compete at the national level. To be able to compete at the national level, the winning entrant must be a member in good standing with the NFPW by March 15, 2021. Entrants can join once they are notified of their winning entry.

Entrants with wins across multiple categories are entered into the state sweepstakes category, which uses a weighted point value for each placing entry. Based on those totals, sweepstakes awards are given to the three top-scoring entrants.

Entry fees for the New Mexico contest are $25 for the 1st entry $15 for each additional for NMPW members; entry fees for non-members are $30 for the 1st and $20 for each additional.

For more information contact

New Mexico communicators win national awards

Communicators in New Mexico have won a slew of awards — nine first-place awards, six second-place, six third-place and seven honorable mentions — from the 2016 National Federation of Press Women annual communications contest. The official awards will be given at NFPW’s national conference in Wichita, Kansas Sept. 8-10, 2016.

1st place winners

  • Ross Van Dusen, Children’s books
  • Heath Haussamen, Investigative reporting
  • Megan Kamerick, Talk show (radio or television)
  • Mandi Kane, Personality profile 500 words or fewer
  • Richard Melzer, History nonfiction for adult readers
  • Sharon Niederman, Cookbooks nonfiction for adult readers
  • Peter St. Cyr, News story – print-based newspaper
  • Kelly Urig, General nonfiction for adult readers
  • Catherine Wanek, Book editing

2nd place winners

  • Mary-Charlotte Domandi, Interview for radio or television
  • Kathleen McCleery, Prepared report for television and special programming for television
  • Sherry Robinson, Specialty articles – green/environmental
  • Diane Thomas, Novel for adult readers
  • Ross Van Dusen, Children’s books

3rd place winners

  • Margaret Cheasebro, Specialty articles – business
  • Merilee Dannemann, Personal blog
  • Bob Diven, Graphics
  • Ruth Friesen, Book design
  • Mary Alice Murphy, Photo essay
  • Diana Sandoval-Tapia, Reports

Honorable mentions

  • Nicolás Cabrera, Feature story – online publication
  • Margaret Cheasebro, Specialty articles – history
  • Ariana Kramer, Specialty article – arts and entertainment
  • Tara Lumpkin, Website editing/management
  • Sherry Robinson, Continuing coverage or unfolding news
  • Marsha Scarbrough, Biography or autobiography
  • Peter St. Cyr, Enterprise reporting

New Mexico Press Women would like to congratulate all of the winners listed above for your remarkable achievements, and thank you for representing our state and our organization so well!


Download the news release in case members would like to include it in your publications.


National Federation of Press Women is a dynamic nationwide organization of professional women and men pursuing careers across the communications spectrum. NFPW is comprised of affiliate organizations across the United States. Learn more at

The winners of the 2016 New Mexico Press Women Communications Contest have been announced.

Fifty-three contestants took home nearly 140 certificates honoring their work from the previous year. There are 64 separate media categories in which participants can enter.
A highlight of the contest is the Awards of Excellence, given to writers and organizations who make major contributions to their communities through their work. The Award of Excellence is based on a weighted scale: the more entries in a media category, the more points the winners earn. For example, a first place in a category with three entries earns four points. That same first place in a category with ten entries earns five points. Writers entering multiple categories stand the better chance of winning an Award of Excellence.
This year, The Awards of Excellence went to:
Nicolás Cabrera — First Place
Margaret Cheasebro — Second Place
Colleen Keane — Third Place
Peter St. Cyr — Honorable Mention
The top organizations were:
Majestic Living, Farmington — First Place
Frontera NorteSur, NMSU, Las Cruces — Second Place
Navajo Times, Window Rock, AZ — Third Place
Rio Grande Books, Albuquerque — Honorable Mention
Santa Fe Reporter, Santa Fe — Honorable Mention
Download the winners list: NMPW 2016 Contest Winners with city (PDF)