Communications Contests

NMPW New Mexico Communications Contest

The annual New Mexico Communications Contest recognizes excellence in print, broadcast, electronic or Internet media, photography, marketing, public relations, graphic arts and journalism in New Mexico. Contest winners are announced in the spring, and awards are presented at New Mexico Press Women’s annual conference. First place winners advance to the national contest.

The purpose of the contest is to improve professional skills by recognizing excellence in communication. The message is what is important. The message — how well it communicates, how it is directed to its target audience, how well it achieves its objectives — is the judging standard.

The 2022 contest will open October 1, 2021. Check back here for details.

Finalists and winners of book categories in the Communications Contest may order stickers. The stickers do not have a date, so previous finalists and winners can use them. The cost is $21.00 for 100 stickers. Order stickers at our online store.

Communicator of Achievement Contest

The Communicator of Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by New Mexico Press Women and the National Federation of Press Women upon those members who have distinguished themselves within and beyond their profession.

The recipient, chosen from nominations by NMPW members, is recognized for exceptional achievement in the communications field, service to NMPW/NFPW and to the community.

All nominees must be living members, in good standing for at least two years in an affiliate and NFPW.

A previous nominee can be named by an affiliate again, as long as he or she has not been honored as NFPW’s national COA winner. Specifics on building a nomination packet, rules for entry, nomination form and more will be posted here when they are announced by NFPW later this year. Also, there is nothing barring self-nomination.

For more information, contact NMPW COA Chair Adam Biederwolf.

The COA Award winner will be announced at the NMPW annual conference.

The winner represents our state in the national competition with the national COA and the runner-up announced at the Communicator of Achievement Award Banquet at NFPW’s annual conference in the fall. Each nominee is featured in NFPW’s AGENDA newsletter prior to the conference and spotlighted at the awards banquet.

Zia Book Award Contest

The Zia Book Award started in 1953 to honor an outstanding woman in New Mexico media. Each year the award rotates to one of three categories: non-fiction, fiction, and children’s literature. To accommodate this schedule, a book published in the last three years is eligible.

Finalists and winners of the Zia Book Award may order stickers. The stickers do not have a date, so previous finalists and winners can use them. The cost is $21.00 for 100 stickers. Order stickers at our online store.

NMPW High School Communications Contest

Information about the High School Communications Contest will be provided as soon as it is available.

The NMPW High School Communications Contest is part of the National Federation of Press Women High School Communications Contest. It inspires students to do their best work, which earns them recognition and reflects well on their teachers and advisers.

Students may enter work in one of 20 categories including: Editorial, Opinion, News Story, Feature Story, Sports Story, Columns, Feature Photo, Sports Photo, Cartooning, Review, Graphics, Single-Page Layout, Double-Truck Layout and Environment. First place winners continue to the NFPW High School Communications Contest and will compete with students from all over the country. Professional journalists judge all New Mexico entries and provide written comments. All first place, second place, third place and honorable mentions receive certificates.