NMPW annually awards two Doris Gregory Memorial journalism scholarships. Recipients must be full-time students (regardless of gender) in pursuit of a graduate or undergraduate degree in print journalism, broadcast, photojournalism, public relations, communications or advertising at a New Mexico college or university the following fall 2022 semester. A $1,000 scholarship will be given to an undergraduate student, and a $1,000 scholarship will be given to a graduate student. Additionally, winners will receive a year-long membership to New Mexico Press Women along with attendance at the conference award luncheon. Winners will be announced two weeks prior to the NMPW conference in March 2022.

TO APPLY FOR A NMPW SCHOLARSHP submit the following in one email (in PDF files) to Brandon Larrañaga, Scholarship Chair at A deadline that will be announced this fall.

  • The downloadable, fillable application form (see See Application Form button below)
  • 3 work samples
  • Your resume
  • Transcripts from your college or university (unofficial ok)
  • 2 letters of recommendations from a professor, employer, mentor or other person familiar with your work
  • A 500-word essay on interest, achievements, career goals and any specific considerations that would make your application stand out


For More Information contact:

Brandon Larrañaga
NMPW Scholarship Chair


New Mexico Press Women is a 501(c)(6) corporation. Donations to NMPW are not tax deductible as charitable contributions, but may be as promotional expenses. If you would like to support these scholarships, please click the button to donate (your name or your business name will be acknowledged in the conference program and on the NMPW website):

Donate now!About Doris Gregory: Doris Gregory was an award-winning member of NMPW and the National Federation of Press Women in the 1950s and ’60s. She was a correspondent for the El Paso Times for 12 years and was also a public relations professional, a magazine editor, and an association executive. The Doris Gregory Memorial Scholarship, established after her death from cancer in 1969, is awarded every year to at least one and often two New Mexico college or university students studying some aspect of communications. NMPW, the state’s largest inclusive media organization since 1949, is open to men and women. NMPW holds an annual communications contest with more than 90 categories, provides scholarships, and has local chapter activities in Albuquerque, Northern New Mexico and Las Cruces.