Great Giving Tuesday

New Mexico Press Women funds its annual post-secondary scholarship program through donations. We thank the following people for donating or pledging during our kickoff on Giving Tuesday for the 2022 scholarships:
Sherri Burr
Carolyn Carlson
Sonya Chavez
William Diven
Robert Flinkman
Caroline Fraser
Loretta Hall
Brad Hall
Anne Hillerman
Sandra Hoover
Colleen Keane
Carol Kreis
Paula Lozar
Marcia Simmons
Susan Walton

We invite you to find out more about the scholarship program and consider adding your donation to help future professional communicators in New Mexico achieve their education goals.

Albuquerque Press Women & Friends November Meeting

At the Monday, November 8, 12:00 noon Zoom meeting of Albuquerque Press Women and Friends, the FBI’s special agent in charge for our local office, Raul Bujanda, will be the guest speaker. He will focus on the issue of hate crimes, an area of special focus for the FBI this year. In addition, we expect Agent Bujanda to take questions on other topics related to crime and law enforcement and the FBI’s activity here in New Mexico.

To attend, you must RSVP to Linda Lockett at:
no later than 9 p.m. Sunday, November 7
so she can put you on the list to be allowed into the Zoom meeting. 
To protect our privacy and prevent unwelcome spammers, etc., only those on this approved list are allowed in. 

Law enforcement agencies in New Mexico reported 55 hate crime incidents in 2020, an increase from 50 reported the year before, adding urgency to an FBI campaign to get victims to come forward.

The report can be found at:

The Albuquerque FBI Division is in the midst of a campaign to build public awareness of hate crimes and encourage reporting to law enforcement.

Here is the Zoom link:
Remember: Your name must be provided to Linda by Sunday evening in order for you to be admitted to the Zoom session.

Speaking of Winners….

NMPW’s own Anne Hillerman is one of four recipients of this year’s coveted Rounders Award. Read more about this year’s award at the organizer’s website. Anne is a founding member of New Mexico Press Women and continues to be actively involved with the state organization and its Northern Chapter. Congratulations, Anne!

NMPW Members Are Winners

Congratulations to six New Mexico Press Women members who won first places in the 2021 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards. They are Sherri Burr, Anne Hillerman, Marcia Meier, Mary Morris, Sharon Niederman, and Patricia Walkow. Anne Hillerman’s book Stargazer won special honors for Fiction: Mystery/Thriller, Cover Design, and Best New Mexico Book. We are proud of you all!