Enter Now and Save!

Time is running out! Beat the early bird deadline and save $25 bucks! Take a look at your work during the 2023 media year and enter the New Mexico Press Women’s state level tier of the National Federation of Press Women’s prestigious communications contest.
The state contest is the first tier in the national contest. All entries are submitted through the National Federation of Press Women’s Communications Contest portal at nfpw.org/professional-contest.
The New Mexico Press Women’s Communications Contest is first judged at the state level. First place winners in the state level contest are eligible to move to the national level of judging. To be eligible to move to the national contest, the entrant must be a member in good standing with the National Federation of Press Women. The contest is open to media people over the age of 18 regardless of gender, professional status or location. There are over 64 categories covering writing, editing, photography, graphic design, radio and television, web and social media, advertising, communication programs and campaigns, public relations materials, information for the media, speeches and collegiate/education.
All work must have been published or broadcast between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023 to be eligible for entry. Entry fees for New Mexico Press Women are $25 for the first entry and $15 for each additional entry. Nonmember fees are $30 for the first entry and $20 for each additional entry. Student fees are $10 for the first and $10 for each additional entry.
A one time $25 late fee will be assessed to all professional contest entrants after the Jan. 17, 2024 early bird deadline. Jan. 31, is the entry deadline for all books. The final contest deadline for all other media is Feb. 7 then the state level contest judging begins. Judging will be completed by March 8 and first place winners that want to go on to the national contest must be members of the national organization by March 15.
State level contest winners will be announced at the annual NMPW conference is set for March 15 and 16, 2024 at Isleta Hotel and Resort. See more information on both the contest and the upcoming conference.

COA Nominations Are Open

Adam Biederwolf, the Chair of the Communicator of Achievement process, is pleased to announce the opening of the nomination phase. Here is the link to the requirements. You may nominate yourself or another member of NMPW. If you have any questions, please reach out to Adam Biederwolf.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, February 2, 2024, at 5:00 p.m. The winner will be announced at the Diamond Anniversary Conference banquet on March 16, 2024. The banquet keynote speaker is legendary author George R. R. Martin.

Happy Holidays from New Mexico Press Women!
Sherri Burr, NMPW President

Endowed Scholarship News

New Mexico Press Women has endowed two scholarships (the Rosenstiel Scholarship for graduate students and the Anne and Tony Hillerman Scholarship for undergraduates) through the Albuquerque Community Foundation. Any gift of $7.50, $75, $750, $1075, or more will be acknowledged in our 75th Anniversary Conference at the Isleta Resort and Hotel on March 15-16, 2024. Please consider donating to build the endowment! Just use this link: https://go.abqcf.org/nmpw. Many thanks to our current Vice President Leonie Rosenstiel and our former President Anne Hillerman for their generous donations. Additionally, all donors to the two New Mexico Press Women Scholarships on Giving Tuesday will be entered into a raffle to receive prizes at our Conference. You do not need to be present to win.