Fiction book entries sought for women’s book contest

An outstanding New Mexican writer will be honored for her work in fiction next spring when her book receives the prestigious Zia Award given by New Mexico Press Women.

New Mexico women writers are invited to submit their fiction books for consideration of the award, given each year at the annual New Mexico Press Women spring conference luncheon. The 2016 conference luncheon will be held April 23, 2016 at Bosque Retreat Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Finalists are required to attend the award luncheon to read from their work.

Each year the award rotates to one of three categories: fiction, children’s literature, and non-fiction. To accommodate this schedule, a book published in the last three years is eligible. Any fiction book published in 2013, 2014 or 2015 will be accepted for consideration of the 2016 Zia Award.

Publishers or authors may submit a book entry. Membership in the association is not required, but the writer must be a woman. Authors must also live in the state, or have a strong connection to New Mexico, however the book can be published anywhere.

Early bird entry is $20 for members and $25 for non-members if the entry is postmarked by December 31, 2015. Regular entry is $25 for members and $30 for non-members. Membership in NMPW is $13 annually.

For consideration please submit:

  • A cover letter with contact information (include email) containing the following:
    • Author’s biography
    • Author’s connection to New Mexico
    • Description of the book
  • A copy of the book
  • Entry fee and optional membership fee, payable to “New Mexico Press Women.”

Mail to the following address:
Jessica Savage
Zia Award Contest Chair
1612 Ralph Dr.
Las Cruces, NM 88001

We can accept payment online via PayPal.

Entries must be postmarked by Saturday, Feb. 6, 2016. An acknowledgement letter will be emailed upon receipt of the entry.

Book entries are considered a donation to the organization and are not returned. The books will be part of the silent auction, held at the annual spring awards banquet, to raise scholarship funds.

For more information on the contest please send correspondence to the address listed above or email at:


The Zia Award was started by members in 1953 to honor an outstanding woman in New Mexico media.


This entry was posted in Zia Award by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *