Fiction book entries sought for N.M. women writers contest

An outstanding New Mexican writer will be honored for her work in fiction next spring when her book receives the prestigious Zia Award.

New Mexican women writers are invited to submit their books for consideration for the award, given each year by New Mexico Press Women at the annual spring conference. To be eligible to receive the award, selected winners must read at the award luncheon during the 2013 conference in April.

The 2013 Zia Award will be given to the author of an outstanding fiction book published in 2010, 2011, or 2012. The contest is open to all subgenres of fiction except children’s books, which will be eligible for the 2014 contest.

Submissions can be made by the author or by someone else on behalf of the author, such as a publisher. Membership in New Mexico Press Women is not required, but the writer must be a woman who lives in or has a strong connection to New Mexico. The book may be published anywhere.

To submit for consideration for the Zia Book Award, send a brief cover letter including complete contact information, the author’s biography (including her connection to New Mexico), and a description of the book, a copy of the book, and a check for the $25 entry fee payable to New Mexico Press Women to:

Loretta Hall
Zia Book Award Chair
3219 El Toboso Dr NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104

Entries must be postmarked no later than Monday, Jan. 14, 2013.

Book entries are considered a donation to the organization and are not returned. The books will be part of the silent auction held at the spring conference to raise scholarship funds.

For more information on the contest, send correspondence to the address listed above or e-mail


The Zia Award started in 1953 to honor an outstanding woman in New Mexico media. Each year the award rotates to one of three categories: nonfiction, fiction, and children=s literature. To accommodate this schedule, a book published in the last three years is eligible.

New Mexico Press Women is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women and exists to provide professional development, networking, and First Amendment rights protection to professional journalists and communicators.

This entry was posted in Zia Award by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *