National Federation of Press Women Announces 2012 Contest Winners

New Mexico Press Women made a good showing in the NFPW Communications Contest. First-place winners who are members of the National Federation of Press Women saw their entries go on to the parent organization. Their awards will be presented during the NFPW convention in Scottsdale in September. Awards are as follows:

Print media

Special series: second, Claudette Sutton, Tumbleweeds Newspaper for Families.
Editorial/opinion, nondaily: third, Leota Harriman, The Independent. Daily: first, Sherri Burr, Albuquerque Journal.
Specialty articles, business: third, Sherry Robinson, Albuquerque The Magazine and Gallup Independent. Arts and entertainment: honorable mention, Connie Gotsch, Four Corners Free Press.
Science: first, Margaret Cheasebro, Majestic Living.
Technology: first, Sherry Robinson, Innovation and New Mexico News Services.
Publications, editing: honorable mention, Barb Belknap, Sandoval Signpost.


On-the-scene report, radio: second, Gillian and David Sutton, KRSN AM 1490.
Prepared report, radio: first, Connie Gotsch, KSJE FM.
Special programming, radio: first, Cheryl Fallstead and Bud Russo, Explore! New Mexico.
Interview, radio: third, Gillian Sutton and Nancy Coombs, KRSN AM 1490.
Presentation, radio: third, Gillian Sutton and Gene Mortensen, KRSN AM 1490.

Electronic communications

Writing for the web: first, Sari Krosinsky, UNM.
Web site development, not-for-profit: second, Sharon Sivinski, Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority.
Videos for web site, not-for-profit: first, Sharon Sivinski, David Morris, Rebecca Elise, Melissa Leyman, Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority.


Radio commercial: first, Kathryn Córdova, KTAO FM.

Public Relations

Community or institutional relations: first, Kathryn Córdova, Taos History Museum.
Marketing program or campaign: first, Kathryn Córdova, Fandango fundraiser.
Annual report: first, Diana Sandoval, New Mexico Workers’ Compensation Administration.
Magapaper or tabloid, four-color: third, Sari Krosinsky, UNM Today.
Newsletter, four-color: first, Kathryn Córdova, The Wagon Wheel.


Nonfiction, general: third, Loretta Hall, “Out of this World: New Mexico’s Contributions to Space Travel,” Rio Grande Books.
Nonfiction, instructional: honorable mention, Sherri Burr, “Entertainment Law.”
Nonfiction, inspirational: first, Slim Randles, “A Cowboy’s Guide to Growing Up Right,” Rio Grande Books.
Fiction, novel: first, Lynne Hinton, “Pie Town.”
Poetry: Barbara Rockman, first, “Sting and Nest.”

Media Contact: Sherry Robinson

This entry was posted in Communication Contest by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *