The New Mexico Press Women Scholarship Committee has awarded two undergraduate college students three scholarships: the Cary Herz Scholarship and two Doris Gregory Memorial Scholarships.  

For the first time, one student has been awarded two scholarships. Amy Waltner, a student at the Eastern New Mexico University and a resident of Rio Rancho, N.M., has been awarded the Cary Hertz Scholarship and the Doris Gregory Memorial Scholarship. She is an outstanding student with academic honors who aspires to be a journalist and a photojournalist. A student in the Journalism department, she has a double major of creative writing and anthropology with career aspirations to be a journalist and  photojournalist for the National Geographic Magazine.
The second student scholarship recipient, an outstanding graduating senior, Desiree Cooper is a student at the Eastern New Mexico University and a resident of Roswell, N.M. She has been awarded the Doris Gregory Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship should help her to further her career goals and assist her in continuing on to graduate school.  Her career goal is to pursue a career in public relations management for a non-profit organization.

This entry was posted in Scholarships by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *