The National Federation of Press Women announced that its New Mexico affiliate had 24 winners in the 2013 national contest.

Congratulations to our members who earned awards in the national communications contest, to be presented at August’s NFPW conference in Salt Lake City. Thanks to everyone who entered our NMPW communications contest!

Cheryl Fallstead, President
New Mexico Press Women

NFPW Communications Contest Winners are:

Rudolfo Anaya, first, children’s books, fiction, for How Hollyhocks Came to New Mexico, Rio Grande Books

Lyn Bleiler, Honorable Mention, in Specialty Articles, Environmental, for stories in EcoSource Guide to Sustainability

Sherri Burr, 2nd, talk show, and 3rd, television interview, both on UPublic TV

Margaret Cheasebro, first, Specialty Articles, Education; 2nd, Specialty Articles, Sports; and honorable mention, Specialty Articles, Business, all for stories in Majestic Living

Kathryn Córdova, third, Newsletters, for Taos Historic Museums; and HM, community relations campaign

Merilee Dannemann, second, personal blog

Sari Krosinski, Carolyn Gonzales and Jana Fothergill, first, magapapers, UNM Today

Melody Groves, second, website videos

Loretta Hall, HM, speeches

Leota Harriman, third, photo essay, The Independent

Lisa Hase-Jackson, HM, poem

Maggie Macnab, first, nonfiction general, for Design by Nature, New Riders Press

James McClure and Ezequiel Ortiz, first, nonfiction biography, for Don Jose, An American Soldier, Sunstone Press

Slim Randles, first, nonfiction humor, for Home Country, Rio Grande Books

Sherry Robinson, first, continuing coverage, and second, Specialty Articles, politics, for stories in the Gallup Independent

Bud Russo, second, Specialty Articles, Travel, for stories in Southwest Senior

Marilyn Stablein, first, graphics in the Malpais Review

Karen Wentworth, HM, online feature, UNM Today

This entry was posted in 2013 NFPW Conference by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.