2018 Communicator of Achievement Award

2018 Communicator of Achievement Contest

The Communicator of Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by New Mexico Press Women and the National Federation of Press Women upon those members who have distinguished themselves within and beyond their profession.

The recipient, chosen from nominations by NMPW members, is recognized for exceptional achievement in the communications field, service to NMPW/NFPW and to the community.

All nominees must be living members, in good standing for at least two years in an affiliate and NFPW (To check on a member’s status, please e-mail presswomen@aol.com.).

A previous nominee can be named by an affiliate again, as long as he or she has not been honored as NFPW’s national COA winner. For specifics on building a nomination packet, rules for entry, nomination form and more, visit the relevant NFPW page. Also, there is nothing barring self-nomination.

Email nomination packets to NMPW CoA Chair Diana Sandoval-Tapia at dmcsandoval@gmail.com. All nomination packets must be received by Friday, March 23, 2018.

The COA Award winner will be announced at the NMPW Award Banquet on during the 2018 Communications Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

The winner represents our state in the national competition with the national COA and the runner-up announced at the Communicator of Achievement Award Banquet at NFPW’s annual conference in the fall. Each nominee is featured in NFPW’s AGENDA newsletter prior to the conference and spotlighted at the awards banquet.

The 2018 NFPW conference is on September 6-8, 2018, in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. For more information visit the NFPW conference web page.


Past Communicator of Achievement Award Recipients

Those with an asterisk were named the national Communicator of Achievement.

2018 – Jessica Savage
2017: none
2016: Loretta Hall*
2015: Anne Hillerman
2014: Sherri Burr
2013: Carol Kreis
2012: Cheryl Fallstead
2011: Bud Russo
2010: Tom Berner
2009: Susan Walton
2008: Cary Herz*
2007: Connie Gotsch
2006: Emily Drabanski
2005: Ree Strange Sheck*
2004: Kathy Cordova
2003: Suzanne Burks
2001 and 2002: No new winner
2000: Sandy Schauer
1999: Carolyn Mullenax Edwards
1998: Christine Burroughs
1997: Linda Harris
1996: Virginia Dooley
1995: Denise Tessier
1994: Hollis Walker
1992: Marsha Vohs
1991: Cathy Robbins
1989 and 1990: Mamie Carter
1988: Anne Hillerman
1987: Marie Hirst
1986: Lynn Peters
1985: Mary Thompson
1984: Della Kilcrease
1983: Jean Jordan
1982: Tricia Hurst
1981: Faye Plank*
1980: Sherry Robinson
1979: Kathryn Morris
1976 – 1978: No awards
1975: Grace McCallum
1974: No award
1973: Glenna Lee Gallemore
1972: Laura Robertson
1971: Mary Olin Harrell
1970: Alice Gruver
1969: Regina Tatum Cooke
1968: Cathie Bower
1968: Frankie McCarty
1967: Kathryn Morris
1966: Ruth Bush Jones
1965: Mildred Latini
1964: Val Cooper