2020 Communications Contest

The results of the 2020 NMPW Communications Contest are in!

See the updated list of awards. Award certificates will be mailed in the coming weeks.

Sweepstakes points have been corrected, as some were previously credited to the submitter instead of the entrant. Here are the updated results for the Sweepstakes winners (highest total points):

First: Claudette Sutton
Second: Colleen Keane
Third: Diane Schmidt
Honorable Mention: Nicolás Cabrera

First: Tumbleweeds Newspaper
Second: New Mexico Political Report
Third: Navajo Times
Honorable Mention: Southwest Writers

Congratulations to all award winners! If your award is for a book and you would like to order stickers, go to our online store and select either Communications Contest Winner (for first place) or Communications Contest Finalist (for second, third, or honorable mention). Display them proudly!


The 2020 Communications Contest is now open. Full information is on the NFPW website, but here are some shortcuts:

To see the list of categories and their descriptions, click here. The category descriptions include information about what the judges will look for in each category. With 61 categories, most of which have subcategories, there are opportunities for virtually any form of communication entry, including reporting, writing, photography, radio and television, web and social media, public relations, and more.

Entry fees and deadlines for the New Mexico contest are:

Membership Status 1st Entry Fee 2nd Entry
NMPW Member $25.00 $15.00
NMPW Non-Member $30.00 $20.00
Student $10.00 $10.00

* A one-time, $25 late entry fee is assessed to all professional contest entrants after the January 28, 2020 deadline.

Deadline Date
Early Bird Deadline January 28, 2020
Final Book Deadline February 4, 2020
Final Deadline February 11, 2020
State Judging Complete March 3, 2020

If you place first in any category in the state contest, you may choose to go on to the national competition in that category, but you will have to be a member of the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) by March 15, 2020, to qualify (see information about joining NFPW). National judging will be complete on March 31.

A new online entry system is being used. To begin, go to the NFPW contest page and click on the large “Click Here to Enter the Contest!” button—or simply click here. On the new page, click on “MY ACCOUNT.” A new page will open, where you can Create a New Account on the right-hand side of the page. After you create your account, you can return to this page at any time and Log In on the left-hand side of the page to submit your entries.

Carolyn Carlson is the NMPW Contest Chair again this year. You can email her with questions.