Communicator of Achievement Award

The Communicator of Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by New Mexico Press Women upon those members who have distinguished themselves within and beyond their profession. New Mexico’s winner will be honored at the state conference in Las Cruces, Saturday, April 26, and then forwarded to compete at the National Federation of Press Women’s annual conference, Sept. 4-6 in Greenville, S.C.

Anyone can nominate a NMPW member for consideration for Communicator of Achievement, but must complete the entire packet (see appropriate links below). The nominee must be a living member of both NMPW and NFPW, in good standing for at least two years, with no lapse in membership. Nominees are judged in three criteria: professional achievement (60%); community service (20%); and NFPW/affiliate service (20%). Previous nominees can be nominated again, so long as they have not been selected by NFPW.

The COA Award winner and the runner-up are announced at the Communicator of Achievement Award Banquet at NFPW’s annual conference. Each nominee is featured in NFPW’s AGENDA newsletter prior to the conference and spotlighted at the awards banquet.

See Rules here:
Click here for entry form:
Click here for checklist before submission:

Complete nomination packets should be e-mailed to Diana Sandoval-Tapia BY FRIDAY, MARCH 21 at, with hard copies mailed to be received by March 21 to:

Diana Sandoval-Tapia, CoA Chair
19 Aldea Place
Los Lunas, NM 87031

This entry was posted in Communicator of Achievement Award by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *