2024 Zia Book Award


Women authors of adult nonfiction books who have a significant connection to New Mexico are encouraged to enter the New Mexico Press Women’s Zia Book Award contest to select the outstanding nonfiction book.

The award is given each year by the New Mexican Press Women at their annual spring conference. Entries are considered on a rotating three-year cycle. Adult fiction books will be considered in 2025. Children’s books will be considered in 2026.

The 2024 Zia Award will be given to an outstanding adult nonfiction book published in 2021, 2022 or 2023.

Submissions can be made by the author or someone else on behalf of the author, such as a publisher. Membership in New Mexico Press Women is not required (although it provides a discounted entry fee). However, the writer must be a woman who lives in or has a strong connection to New Mexico. The book may be published anywhere.

To be eligible to receive the award, the selected finalists must be available to read at the annual award luncheon during the 2024 conference on Saturday, March 16th, 2024.

To submit for consideration for the Zia Book Award pay the entry fee (see below**) and send:

  • A brief cover letter including complete contact information, author’s biography (including connection to New Mexico), and a brief description of the book.
  • Three physical copies of the books (or email one copy of the e-book)

Jennifer Hull (ZiaBookAward@gmail.com)
Zia Book Award Chair
6400 Avenida la Cuchilla, Los Ranchos NM 87107

Entries must be postmarked no later than January 24, 2024.

**Pay the entry fee ($30 for non-members; $25 for members until December 31; thereafter $35 for members and $50 for non-members); you may also join New Mexico Press Women at the time you enter but membership is not required for eligibility. You may pay on the website: https://new-mexico-press-women.square.site, or you may send a check payable to NMPW to:
Loretta Hall
NMPW Treasurer
3219 El Toboso Dr NW
Albuquerque, NM  87104