Fiction entries sought for women’s book contest

An outstanding New Mexican writer will be honored for her work in fiction next spring when her book receives the prestigious Zia Award.

Women writers living in the state are invited to submit their books for consideration for the award, given each year by the New Mexico Press Women at the annual spring conference. The 2010 conference will be held in Albuquerque, April 16-17.

The 2010 Zia Award will be given to the author of an outstanding book in fiction published in 2007, 2008 or 2009. The contest is open to novels, novellas and short story collections and to all genres.

Each year the award rotates to one of three categories: nonfiction, fiction and children’s literature. To accommodate this schedule, a book published in the last three years is eligible.

Submissions can be made by the author or by someone else on behalf of the author, such as a publisher. Membership in the association is not required, but the writer must be a woman. Authors must also live in the state or have a strong connection to New Mexico; however the book can be published anywhere. A $10 submission fee is required and helps to defray the costs of the award. Entries must be postmarked by Jan. 11, 2010.

New Mexico Press Women is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women and exists to provide professional development, networking and First Amendment rights protection to professional journalists and communicators. For more information on the association, visit

The Zia Award was started by members in 1953 to honor an outstanding woman in New Mexico media.

Book entries are considered a donation to the organization and are not returned. The books will be part of the silent auction held at the annual spring awards banquet to raise scholarship funds.

To submit a book entry to the Zia Award contest please send a cover letter containing contact information and a paragraph stating the author’s connection to New Mexico, an email address or stamped postcard for acknowledgement of receipt, the book and a check for $10 payable to New Mexico Press Women to the following address postmarked by Jan. 11, 2010:

Sari Krosinsky
Zia Award Contest Chair
315 Terrace Street SE
Albuquerque, N.M. 87106

For more information on the contest please send correspondence to the address listed above or email

This entry was posted in Zia Award by nmpw. Bookmark the permalink.

About nmpw

New Mexico Press Women (NMPW), organized in 1950, is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. It is an organization of professional journalists and communicators that promotes the highest ethical standards while looking to the future in professional development, networking and protecting First Amendment rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *