2020 Zia Book Award

An outstanding female New Mexico writer will be honored for her work in children’s literature next spring when her book receives the prestigious Zia Book Award.

New Mexican women writers are invited to submit their books by February 1, 2020, for consideration for the award, given each year by New Mexico Press Women at the annual spring conference. To be eligible to receive the award, selected winners must read at the award luncheon during the 2020 conference on March 21 at the Canyon Club in Albuquerque.

The 2020 Zia Award will be given to the author of an outstanding children’s book published in 2017, 2018, or 2019.

Submissions can be made by the author or by someone else on behalf of the author, such as a publisher. Membership in New Mexico Press Women is not required, but the writer must be a woman who lives in or has a strong connection to New Mexico. The book may be published anywhere.

To submit for consideration for the Zia Book Award, send a brief cover letter including complete contact information, the author’s biography (including her connection to New Mexico), a description of the book, and a copy of the book to:

Carolyn Carlson
Zia Book Award Chair
3503 Berkeley Pl NE
Albuquerque, NM 87106

The entry fee is $25 for NMPW members, $30 for nonmembers. Entries must be postmarked no later than February 3, 2019. Pay the entry fee by check (payable to New Mexico Press Women) mailed with your entry, or pay online at squareup.com/store/new-mexico-press-women (scroll down to “2020 Zia Book Award Entry” and click on the Zia symbol).

Book entries are considered a donation to the organization and are not returned. The books will be part of the silent auction held at the spring conference to raise scholarship funds.

For more information on the contest, contact our Zia Award Chair Carolyn Carlson at the address listed above or e-mail contest@newmexicopresswomen.org.


The Zia Award started in 1953 to honor an outstanding woman in New Mexico media. Each year the award rotates to one of three categories: nonfiction, fiction, and children’s literature. To accommodate this schedule, a book published in the last three years is eligible.

New Mexico Press Women (www.newmexicopresswomen.org) is an affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women (www.nfpw.org) and exists to provide professional development, networking, and First Amendment rights protection to professional journalists and communicators.